Write a method that takes in a string and returns the longest word in the string

Write a method that takes in a string and returns the longest word in the string.

def longest_word(sentence)
  #arr=[]
  arr=sentence.split(" ")
  i=0
  var=""
  while(i<arr.length)
    if var<arr[i]
      var=arr[i]
      i+=1
    end
    return var
  end
end

Here’s my implementation.

length = ->word1, word2{ word1.length <=> word2.length }
  sentence.split(/ /).max(&length)
end

longest_word "The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain"
# => "mainly"

It looks great the prob I don’t understand it being a total newbie
Is there any way you can correct mine so that it works?
Thanks

Okay; the problem lies in this area.

while(i<arr.length)
  if var<arr[i]
    var=arr[i]

The if var<arr[i] isn’t checking var.length or arr[i].length

arr[i] evaluates to the string of each word. You need to call .length on it if you want the length value to compare.

var itself is also just a string. You need to do the same for it.

At first glance it looks like fixing this will make it work, but you might want to check and make sure every word is being evaluated when you do things like this in the future. For that I recommend writing

puts arr[1]

somewhere in the while loop and see what prints out on the command line. You can use puts to print most anything in Ruby to see what you’re working with.

You’re also returning from inside the loop, so it will return the first
word, always

1 Like

@danielpclark Why have that lambda in there?

Can’t you just do:

sentence.split(" ").max_by(&:size)
end
2 Likes

Thank you, Sir and everybody else for your help.
I was finally able to get it to work according to my logic and although I’m not very sure if it checks for everything it needs to check - it does return true on all tests.
So happy camper here :slight_smile:

temp=sentence.split(" ")
  i=0 
  bigW=nil 
  while(i<temp.length)
    currentW=temp[i]
    if bigW==nil
      bigW=temp[i]