Threads

I just updated my, and my R.R. teams, website Trendercast. I made it far more responsive with:

1. an OAuth sign-in process that won’t navigate away from your page (wont interrupt podcast playing)
  2. a submission notification whenever new RSS feeds are entered (they take a while to gather and process)
  3. Threaded RSS feed updates!!!

This is my first time trying out threads and I’m very happy with it.

I experimented in IRB like a good developer and found that calling the join method on a thread will have the “program” wait for the thread to finish before resuming. This is one feature I wanted to use in Rails … but guess what… using thread.join in Rails gridlocks the application. Thankfully I found a way around that. Here’s basically what the code looks like.

module FeedGenerator
  def self.gen_feed(url, view_env)
    # fetch record for RSS feed
    feed = Feed.where(url: url).take(1).first

# If the feed is older than 4 hours we check to see if a new podcast has been posted
    # but we don't want to delay the user's page loading so lets just start a thread in the
    # background to perform fetching and DB updating
    threads[url] = Thread.new { perform(url) } unless updated?(feed)

# if no record exists
    if feed.nil?
      # have the current process wait until data is finished being retrieved
      sleep 3 while threads[url].alive?

# Allow the garbage collector to remove dead threads
      threads[url] = nil 

# We have to change the query so Rails won't use the previously cached result
      # Grab the newly made feed
      feed = Feed.where(url: url).where("created_at > ?", Time.now - 20.minutes).take(1).first
    end 

FeedPresenter.new(feed, view_env)
  end 

def self.threads
    @threads ||= {}
  end 

def self.perform(url)
    # grab RSS feed data and save to DB
  end

def self.updated?(feed)
    if feed
      if feed.updated_at.between?(Time.now.ago(4.hours), Time.now)
        return true
      end
    end
    false
  end
end