Strict type-system for Ruby?

I just read once-more Julien Blanchard’s blog post about a type system for Ruby. As we all know, Ruby uses duck-typing. That means that Ruby doesn’t care what type an objects says it is, it cares about what the object can do. It’s one of the things that makes the language so flexible, it allows us to write code like that:

def my_length(obj)
 obj.length
end 

knowing that this code will work for any object that supports the #length method, regardless of its ‘type’. It means we don’t have to overload this method again and again to deal with different argument types, as we would do in a statically-typed language. it’s a beautiful thing, one of the very things that makes Ruby, well…Ruby.

I am surprised to see that there is a movement of people within the Ruby community who want to have a static type-system, including overloading, casting and other associated nasties. I developed code in C++ for over 12 years before I started learning Ruby. I spent a significant part of those 12 years fighting the language’s type-system, telling it things like

“hey, this object over there is a std::string but I want you to convert it to a char*, because that’s how someone declared it in a function signature, although they are essentially the same thing and it shouldn’t really matter because I only want to use its bloody length anyway”

I really, really don’t want to go back to this. I know, from experience with both, that static typing’s drawbacks far outweigh the benefits. I appreciate there are use-cases for static typing but, you know, for such use-cases go use Java, Scala or whatever other language floats your boat. Let’s keep Ruby truly dynamic.

To paraphrase Ben Franklin: “Those who are prepared to sacrifice permanent flexibility for temporary safety deserve neither!”

2 Likes