Ruby Patterns

I’ve been using Ruby professionally for close to three years now. I’ve recently gotten more curious into what different patterns are called and how they are used in other programming languages as well as what typical programming patterns can’t be used in Ruby.

When I create a new service object in my Rails code, with only one purpose, I tend to still write it as an instance object, so that the garbage collector can pick it up.

Let say we have this code:

class Mailer
  attr_reader :type

def initialize(type)
    @type = type
  end

def send_mail!
    ExternalMailClient.send_mail(type)
  end
end

to call this, we’d have to do:

Mailer.new(:my_type).send_mail!

When the external call in #send_mail! is done, the new Mailer instance will be marked for deletion and picked up by the garbage collector. But that new followed by send_mail! thorns in my eye. I tend to do this instead:

class Mailer
  class << self
    def send_mail!(type)
      new(type).send_mail!
    end
  end

attr_reader :type

def initialize(type)
    @type = type
  end

def send_mail!
  end
end

Now I can instead do:

Mailer.send_mail!(:my_type)

and I don’t have to worry about the new instance or the fact that it is indeed creating a new instance of the Mailer class underneath the hood.

You could even go as far as adding:

private :new

to the class definition, so no one can call it without using your #send_mail! method.

My question is simple: What is this pattern called?

2 Likes

I’m not sure that the pattern is called, but it’s what I would to do too :slight_smile:

I’m no expert on terminology. But I’m not sure this has a pattern name yet.

I try to use a module for single function use cases. So personally I’d probably write it more like:

module Mailer
  class << self
    def send_mail!(type)
    end
  end
end