Need suggestions to refactor my code

Hello folks, I am a budding ruby developer/enthusiast.
Though not well versed with Ruby way of coding, I have been catching up lately to write efficient and ruby-way program. I am currently working on refactoring my code which was written hurriedly to get the job done at the initial stage. Though I have re-written/refactored 50% of my code, I am stuck with rest needing better ideas. Can somebody review my code or provide any ruby code-review websites?

1 Like

The majority of video clips shared in Awesome conference talks teach and show better coding practices. At least one is specifically focused on refactoring. I also a fan of Jim Weirich’s Roman Numeral Kata which he has demonstrated on Youtube. I get my refactorings ideas from videos, blogs, and reading other peoples code on CodeWars; after a kata is solved every one elses solution for it is visible.

You can also pair program with others. That’s an optimal way to grow and learn.

You can find some blogs to follow over at What does your Tech Podcast/RSS Feed Subscription List look like?

1 Like

I would read some Ruby books - Eloquent Ruby (by the amazing Russ Olsen) is probably a good start for you.

I keep meaning to re-read it! :043:

1 Like

I also like answering StackOverflow questions. Every time I do I spend a good chunk of time refactoring my solution into a better one.

I have been following Sandy Metz’s approach as shown in this video to refactor my code.

All the Little Things by Sandi Metz

Initially I was able to refactor my code into smaller classes, removing code blocks that were being used frequently, making them common methods and moving the conditions from main actions. But later I got stuck whilst trying to refactor a code block that was dealing with multiple complex hashes.

1 Like

Thanks for the tip. Would download the book “Eloquent Ruby”.
Cheers!