Dry-rb

http://dry-rb.org

Saw a post about dry-rb on reddit. I’ll admit that my first reaction was to roll my eyes. It reminded me a lot of the “containers everywhere” approach that was popular when I was a java developer. This is totally unfair of me, so I’m curious what others think.

Are some of you already using these gems? What problems do they help you solve?

dry-validation

Powerful data validation based on predicate logic

dry-types

Flexible type system with many built-in types

dry-transaction

Business transaction DSL

dry-container

Simple and thread-safe IoC container

dry-auto_inject

Container-agnostic constructor injection mixin

dry-equalizer

Simple mixing providing equality methods

dry-component

Organize your code into reusable components

dry-configurable

Thread-safe configuration mixin

1 Like

I’m with you. I have unfair feelings towards it.

1 Like

I don’t use any of those gems…

Hi kofno,

Thank you for taking an interest in dry-rb.

I think your point regarding “containers everywhere” applies specifically to dry-container. I created dry-container in an attempt to make dependency injection easier to use in Ruby. From what I’ve seen in Ruby, people seem to promote good practices such as code to an interface (in the form of duck-typing), favour composition over inheritance etc. But judging by the Ruby code that I’ve seen, those practices seem to be ignored when it comes to implementation for the sake of aesthetics of code, for example:

class CreateUserCommand
  include UserValidator

attr_reader :repository

def initialize(repository = UserRepository.new)
    @repository = repository
  end

def call(user)
    repository.create(user) if validate(user)
  end
end