Naming - The hardest problem of Software Development

I have been coding for a Rails project for several years (3~4 years maybe?)
And I still have no idea what is a “good”/suitable set of rules for naming classes (including namespace).

I got several types of classes:

• Active Record Models
  • Non Active Record Models
  • Controller
  • Operations (something like service object, no gem used)
  • Cells (using gem cells, view component related)
  • Mailers
  • Background workers (currently using gem sidekiq)

How do you guys name your classes?
I would love to hear :smile:

2 Likes

I tend to use descriptive but-as-succinct-as-possible names :slight_smile:

Such as UrlChecker and ProfileRipper (two of my own classes in one of my Rails app).

The models are always easy to name I think, because their names should reflect the actually model, right? So if you are modelling a client, you name the model Client.

The controllers are sorta the same way, you name them from way models they control. I know that sometimes you want to control two thinks in one controller, and then the naming gets weird, but you could have a ClientRelationsController then.

The service objects in my projects all have Service at the end. If it’s a service object with does something with/for clients, it’s name would be ClientService.

1 Like

I basically follow what @Ohm has said. For me method naming is more of an issue when you have to consider potential conflicts. Like writing a library that adds additional methods onto ActiveRecord objects. Lots of libraries do this, so a common name may conflict. For my gem PolyBelongsTo I put pbt_ in front of each method name to “namespace them”. There are only two methods I didn’t do this for :poly? and :orphan?. I figured those would be relatively safe to take ownership of.